Skip to content

Montana Watershed Coordination Council | P.O. Box 1416 Helena, MT 59624 | info@mtwatersheds.orgClick Here to Sign-up for our Watershed Newsletter

Watershed Stewardship Awards

Since 1999, The Montana Watershed Coordination Council and the Montana Wetland Council have been honoring individuals and groups providing innovation, locally led approaches to conserving, protecting, restoring and enhancing watersheds in Montana. Watershed and Wetland Stewardship Awardees inspire others to conserve, protect, restore and enhance Montana’s watersheds.



Eligible nominees may include individuals, local watershed groups, conservation districts, tribal entities, resource management groups, or other conservation organizations that are or have been involved in collaborative watershed stewardship activities. Partnerships and efforts not tied to a specific organization also are eligible. A project does not have to be completed to be eligible – simply describe the process and accomplishments to date. Award recipients are not eligible for five years following recognition; see the list of previous recipients below. 

Past Recipients

2021 Award Recipients:

2019 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Jen Downing, Big Hole Watershed Committee
  • Watershed Award: Tom Henderson, Montana Department of Environmental Quality

2017 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Jeff Tiberi, Montana Association of Conservation Districts
  • Watershed Award: Broadwater Conservation District
  • Wetland Award: Larry Urban, Montana Department of Transportation
  • Wetland Award: Trust For Public Lands, Story Mill Creek Restoration Project

2015 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Kris Newgard, Kootenai National Forest Hydrologist, Three Rivers District
  • Watershed Award: Musselshell Watershed Coalition
  • Wetland Award: Wetland and Riparian Mapping Center, Montana Natural Heritage Program
  • Wetland Award: Montana Ducks Unlimited, Inc.

2013 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Adam Sigler, Montana State Extension: Water Quality
  • Watershed Award: Arctic Grayling CCAA Management Team
  • Wetland Award: Blackfoot Trumpeter Swan Swan Restoration Program
  • Wetland Award: Valley Garden Ranch, Madison County

2011 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Group Award: Sweet Grass County Conservation District/Boulder River Watershed Association/Big Timber & Swamp Creek Watershed Group
  • Watershed Individual Award: Joel Chavez & Tim Reilly, DEQ Remediation Division, Silver Bow Creek Restoration
  • Wetland Award: Henry and Trish Gordon, Gordon Cattle Company
  • Wetland Award: Flathead River to Lake Initiative Partners

2009 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Yellowstone River Conservation District Council
  • Watershed Individual Award: Robert Ray
  • Wetland Award: Jim and Cindy Kittredge, Bird Creek Ranch and Tim Griffiths, NRCS Bozeman Area Biologist

2007 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: The Flathead Lakers – Critical Lands Project
  • Wetland Award: Jim Stone of Rolling Stone Ranch, Gary Sullivan, USFWS and Dave Carr, TNC

2006 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Upper Clark Fork Basin Steering Committee
  • Watershed Individual Award: Alan Rollo

2005 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Kootenai River Network
  • Watershed Individual Award: Mike McLane

2002 Award Recipients:

  • Watershed Award: Bitter Root Water Forum
  • Wetland Award: Larry Weeks
  • Wetland Award: Gordon Stockstad

2001 Award Recipients:

  • Big Spring Watershed Partnership
  • Upper Shields Watershed Association
  • Big Blackfoot Chapter of Trout Unlimited / Blackfoot Challenge

2000 Watershed Stewardship Award Recipients:

  • Careless Creek Watershed
  • Green Mountain Conservation District
  • Sage Creek Watershed Alliance

2000 Wetland Stewardship Award Recipients:

  • Mary Bradshaw – H2-O Ranch, Helmville
  • Brian Maiorano – Missoula County Floodplain Administrator

1999 Watershed Stewardship Award Recipients:

  • Big Hole Watershed Committee
  • Sun River Watershed